Skip to content

2017 Conference


More than 470 participants representing had the opportunity to attend 36 educational sessions at this year’s 2017 SRAPPA Conference October 26 – 28, 2017 in Charlotte, NC. This was SRAPPA’s 66th annual conference and it was a memorable one hosted by University of North Carolina – Charlotte!

The conference theme was “Building Excellence in Facilities” and we were treated to a tour of the UNC – Charlotte campus where the staff has an obvious infectious commitment to facilities excellence. The host committee delivered an exceptional conference, bringing many great programs and venues for the attendees and for our Business Partners. Every day of the conference was filled with opportunities to connect, engage with and learn from one another.

But the great prelude of activities the day before the conference were also terrific!

stop hunger event

45 SRAPPA attendees prepared over 10,000 meals at
the Stop Hunger event.

golf outing

The golf outing at Olde Sycamore Golf Club was
attended by 92 golfers.


Former Navy Seal, Shannon Rusch, gave a unique and inspiring presentation on the values of commitment and determination in the face of tremendous obstacles.


Navy Seal

Former Navy Seal, Shannon Rusch


The SRAPPA Breakfast and Business Meeting began the last day of the conference as Glen Ward’s humor and inspirational presentation gave us all a positive charge!

The conference was capped off on Saturday evening at the Banquet and Board Installation event. Outgoing SRAPPA President, Dan Wooten, recapped the region’s successful year and recognized board members for their service to the board: Jay Williams, David Hatch, Tom Kantsios. Dan also presented Jack Colby as an Emeritus Member and Paul Weubold with the President’s Award. The SRAPPA region also recognized those who received APPA awards this year:

  • 2017 Meritorious Service Award: Jodie Sweat
  • 2017 Pacesetter Awards: Rebecca Griffith and Robert Boyette

dan wooten

Outgoing SRAPPA President, Dan Wooten


Chris Kopach, APPA President, installed the new 2017 – 2018 SRAPPA Board:

President – David Smith, University of North Carolina – Charlotte
Immediate Past President – Dan Wooten, Tennessee State University
President-Elect – Tom Jones, Clemson University
First Vice President – Ray Mirizzi, Northern Kentucky University
Second Vice President – Mike Steger, Berkeley Preparatory
Treasurer – Becky Griffith, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Vice President for Education, Al Hill, Tennessee State University
Vice President for Chapter Affairs – Andy Maddox, University of Alabama
Vice President for Communications – Brian Wilcox, University of Memphis
APPA Senior Representative – Jodie Sweat, Kennesaw State University
APPA Junior Representative – Dave Maharrey, Louisiana State University
K-12 Liaison – David Van Hook, Floyd County Schools
Business Partner Liaison – Brian Wright, Mitsubishi Electric America Co.
APPA Liaison – Steve Glazner

David Smith, incoming President, concluded the banquet by highlighting some of the episodes of the conference, thanking everyone who worked so hard on this great conference, and challenging his SRAPPA colleagues to do their part this coming year to engage in this great organization.


david smith

Incoming SRAPPA President, David Smith